8
Estate combines effortless performance with top-notch dynamics and economy enhanced by mild hybrid mechanicals
Steve Cropley Autocar
8 November 2018

What is it?

Simple enough concept here: well engineered, capacious estate with a layout very familiar to Merc buyers benefits from performance and handling boosts brought by an AMG development programme.

The result, with the right wheels and paint, is a sporty-looking load-carrier with performance that, not many years ago, would have been worthy of a Porsche.

It comes with an on-road starting price of £64,495 that looks decent value, and it’s still not too bad when boosted to £72,455 as in our Hyacinth Red test car, which rolled on 20in wheels fitted with five-spoke black alloys.

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Honda CR-V hybrid 2019 first drive review - hero front
    16 November 2018
    First Drive
    Honda’s hybrid tech makes its debut in the grown-up CR-V family SUV, and...
  • Kia Ceed 2018 long-term review - hero front
    16 November 2018
    First Drive
    The latest Ceed is the best yet. But is it now good enough to be a real...
  • Honda CR-V 2018 road test review - hero front
    16 November 2018
    Car review
    For its fourth-generation, Honda moves its long-established CR-V into full-...

What's it like?

After the paint and wheels, there’s not very much AMG decor on this one, though you get the Affalterbach message easily enough. The badges and grille are AMG-specific, and those wheels (plus the standard air suspension) give it a stance that means business.

Inside, some labelling and a flat-bottomed wheel are the obvious AMG add-ons. You also get extra driving modes (via a Dynamic rocker switch) and a separate shocker ride adjuster. Which underscores the point about this E53: the bigger changes will be the ones you feel on the move.

Start the engine and there’s the kind of audible rasp you’d never hear in a cooking E-class; the performance intent is immediately obvious. This car has a 3.0-litre turbocharged petrol straight six (packing 429bhp and 384lb ft of torque) that is supplemented by a 48-volt mild hybrid powertrain, the same one offered in the Merc S500.

This set-up inserts a 21bhp, 184lb ft electric motor between the engine and the nine-speed automatic gearbox. It seamlessly starts the petrol engine, augments take-off and acceleration, can help the car coast, engine-off, in its economy setting, and converts itself to a generator to feed retardation power back into the battery on the overrun.

On the performance front 0-62mph acceleration is timed at 4.5 seconds and top speed is a governed 155mph; in real-world driving you’ll easily turn 32-34mpg and 38 if you try hard. Which makes Mercedes’s combined figure of 31.7mpg figure look more honest than most. The 203g/km CO2 output isn’t too shabby, either.

The performance is effortless, partly because the electrically boosted power and torque don’t have lags or gaps, and partly because the nine-speed ’box provides a profusion of low, easy shifting ratios especially in the early acceleration phase. You can control the gearbox by paddles if you want, but with a Sport setting selected, you’ll soon get the feeling that the gearbox makes sophisticated decisions often better than your own. Only the need for engine braking on long slopes encourages you consistently to use the paddles.

This is a heavy (2.1 tonne), long wheelbase car, so it’s not the kind of thing you chuck about. The standard 4Matic drive system (which in all but low-grip situations allows the car to behave as a rear-wheel drive Merc) and the slightly too intrusive electronic stability controls keep it very firmly in line. However the E53’s steering weight and accuracy makes it surprisingly simple to place, and with the right chassis settings it grips beautifully, corners neutrally and practically refuses to roll on bends. The 4wd system causes some intrusive tyre scrub at low speeds on concrete surfaces, but you get used to it. The brakes (increased in size as part of AMG’s work) are very powerful and intuitive.

Seekers of last-word luxury may not like the word: even in Comfort this big estate is stiffer and sportier than most peers. My own choice, 85% of the time, was the Sport setting, though I soon learned how to locate the Dynamic button by feel (for UK buyers it’s on the wrong side of the HMI selector wheel) to calm the ride over extended ruts. Most of the time, though, this is a pleasant, fairly sporting, fast and long-legged machine with generous space in its cabin, well capable of extended trips for four people and generous amounts of luggage. It’ll make quite a lot of AMG-style noise with its exhaust and induction system if you give it the beans, but these never seem to intrude unless you want them to.

Should I buy one?

Hard to think of a big reason not to, unless you have an especially strong desire to own an equivalent model from a different brand, or if the others offer a better deal.

This car has performance, equipment, quality, fine ergonomics and lives up to Mercedes’ well deserved reputation. It’s also enjoyable to drive.

The hybrid economies and the extra 4Matic traction just add to its all-roads, all-year appeal.

Mercedes-AMG E53 Estate specification

Where Gloucestershire, UK Price £64,495 (as tested £72,455) On sale now Engine 2999cc, in-line six cylinder, turbocharged petrol with auxiliary electric motor Power 435bhp at 6100rpm Torque 384lb ft Gearbox 9-speed automatic Kerb weight 2020kg Top speed 155mph (limited) 0-62mph 4.5sec Fuel economy 32.5mpg CO2 203g/km Rivals Audi S6 Avant, Alpina B3 S biturbo

Join the debate

Comments
18

8 November 2018

4.5 secs to 60? My earlier 350D version has 460 Ib ft, keeps it under two tonnes and is nowhere near that number (6 secs+)? Not that I care that much, drag racing kids in fast hatchbacks is not what I bought it for.

8 November 2018
James Dene wrote:

4.5 secs to 60? My earlier 350D version has 460 Ib ft, keeps it under two tonnes and is nowhere near that number (6 secs+)? Not that I care that much, drag racing kids in fast hatchbacks is not what I bought it for.

No, you clearly bought it so you could post worthless comments on internet forums.

8 November 2018

I was questioning the veracity of the 4.5 sec claim and the pointlessness of 0-60 times generally. What was the 'worth' of your contribution to the debate on this vehicle?

8 November 2018
Big Jeff wrote:
James Dene wrote:

4.5 secs to 60? My earlier 350D version has 460 Ib ft, keeps it under two tonnes and is nowhere near that number (6 secs+)? Not that I care that much, drag racing kids in fast hatchbacks is not what I bought it for.

No, you clearly bought it so you could post worthless comments on internet forums.

Yes, Jeff!! Spot on!

10 November 2018

2.1 tonnes!!!

Apparently shiny plastic is really, really heavy!

8 November 2018

This is the one. Not a coupe that is carrying too much weight for its own good, but a big, luxurious and practical Merc with - at last! - a straight six petrol power plant again.

To my mind, so much more appealing than the two door or CLS version. I’m sure the family would be very content with this!

Myk

8 November 2018

So, it rides really badly then? 

8 November 2018
Myk wrote:

So, it rides really badly then? 

 

I’m not sure where you draw that conclusion from. Autocar says the coupe rides badly but the longer wheelbase and added weight should help. Besides, you get a ‘bumpy road’ button! 

Myk

8 November 2018
scrap wrote:

Myk wrote:

So, it rides really badly then? 

 

I’m not sure where you draw that conclusion from. Autocar says the coupe rides badly but the longer wheelbase and added weight should help. Besides, you get a ‘bumpy road’ button! 

"Seekers of last-word comfort may not like the word: even in Comfort this big estate is stiffer and sportier than most peers."  Now, I've assumed "not like the word" is a typo and should be "not like the ride" as that seems to fit.  Ergo, it rides badly, which we already know is one of the coupe's faults.  Bit of a shame really, as I always think big Merc estates should be comfortable cruisers.

8 November 2018
Myk wrote:

scrap wrote:

Myk wrote:

So, it rides really badly then? 

 

I’m not sure where you draw that conclusion from. Autocar says the coupe rides badly but the longer wheelbase and added weight should help. Besides, you get a ‘bumpy road’ button! 

"Seekers of last-word comfort may not like the word: even in Comfort this big estate is stiffer and sportier than most peers."  Now, I've assumed "not like the word" is a typo and should be "not like the ride" as that seems to fit.  Ergo, it rides badly, which we already know is one of the coupe's faults.  Bit of a shame really, as I always think big Merc estates should be comfortable cruisers.

STILL CAN'T UNDERSTAND YOU OLD CHAP. YOU SOUND GERMAN, I'M GUESSING YOU ARE AS YOU DRIVE A BMW.

Pages

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Honda CR-V hybrid 2019 first drive review - hero front
    16 November 2018
    First Drive
    Honda’s hybrid tech makes its debut in the grown-up CR-V family SUV, and...
  • Kia Ceed 2018 long-term review - hero front
    16 November 2018
    First Drive
    The latest Ceed is the best yet. But is it now good enough to be a real...
  • Honda CR-V 2018 road test review - hero front
    16 November 2018
    Car review
    For its fourth-generation, Honda moves its long-established CR-V into full-...